The back flip phenomenon . . .

Standard

Something puzzling occurred this week.

I can’t explain why or how, but I found myself saying ‘yes’ to a whole lot of things I would normally avoid.

My spirit of generosity has done a back flip.

In the past seven days I’ve offered to put together a landscaping proposal for my kids’ school, I’ve joined the fundraising committee and volunteered to sew costumes for the end of year concert.

I even contemplated canteen duty but an overwhelming fear of accidentally giving away all the profits in small change stopped me in my tracks.

Maybe it’s the season (of giving and all that), perhaps it’s the guilt-inducing example set by others or it could be just the unexpected after-effect of this week’s solar eclipse. I don’t know.

Another thing I don’t know is where I’m going to find the time for all this extra stuff.

Actually, I do know – it’s coming straight out of my regular sleep quota. Every morning at 4am I am now wide awake and stewing over the details of whatever project is more urgent.

Right now, I can see a map of the school grounds trying to get my attention from a far flung corner of the desk. I’ll have to go. Someone’s gotta decide the best location for a totem pole amidst of a sea of native grasses.

Apparently that person is me . . .

Leave a Reply

