Books, books, books!

Standard
Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The mountain of books beside my bed has been growing all year. But I’m ready to clear the decks and make way for my holiday reading selections.

My first choice is the current novel by the fabulous Matthew Reilly. Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves already has me hooked with all that talk of M249s, MREs, AFDVs and, of course, impending doom.

The loveable Captain Shane Schofield is back, along with his indestructible offsider, Mother, for a page turning, heart racing, action packed adventure on ice. But this is no Disney heart-warmer. I’ve heard that there’s a scene involving rat torture that will make my stomach turn.

Can’t wait!

Next on the list is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate. Now this one might qualify for the Disney treatment. It’s Water for Elephants meets Project X – the story of a captive gorilla who vows to free a young elephant from the life behind glass that he himself has been forced to endure.

This one was recommended by my gorgeous sister who assures me that tears will be shed.

I’m looking forward to it (tissue box in hand).

And last, but by no means least, I’ll be throwing myself into Miranda Hart’s autobiography called Is It Just Me?

I love her sitcom and her stand-up so I’m quietly confident that her book will deliver. I’ve sneakily read a few of her checklists (complete with quirky triangular boxes so you can tick them off yourself) and am somewhat concerned that she may have been stalking me. She knows too much!

Anyway, laughs are guaranteed. It should be fun.

Now, I just need to find a few quiet hours to get stuck in. Happy holiday reading!

Leave a Reply

