I’ll have what he’s having . . .

Standard
Biscuit Plate

Biscuit Plate (Photo credit: Caro Wallis)

I give up! I can no longer handle the responsibility of deciding what to eat and when. The whole concept of dieting and fitness just makes me feel tired and a wee bit disheartened. So I’m handing all the food-related decisions over to my husband. I’ll have what he’s having.

When it comes to good health, I think you would be hard-pressed to find two more contrasting characters.

I love cake. I love biscuits. I love chocolate. I love chocolate biscuits. But I especially love bread with a generous scrape of butter on it. My husband, on the other hand, is a salad fiend, never touches bread, eats fruit regularly . . . and jogs. In fact, last week he competed in a triathlon. Meanwhile, I’m getting tired just typing this. Sigh.

Both literally and figuratively, I am being left behind. So it’s time to take action (of the most inactive kind). Henceforth, I am absolving myself of all responsibility when it comes to food.

If he’s going to eat corn crackers instead of bread, so will I. Sniffle.

If he’s going to eat apples instead of cream filled biscuits, so am I. Sob.

And if he’s going to eat muesli instead of thick fresh bread loaded with lashings of peanut butter and honey, so . . . will . . . I. Burst into tears.

Here’s hoping he takes the hint and discovers the block of fruit and nut chocolate I have stashed (rather obviously) in the freezer.

If he’s having that, there’s no way I’m missing out!

3 responses »

  1. My hubby and I are the exact opposites, too. Except I am the one trying to eat healthy and jogs, he is the one who loves chips and chocolate! And sitting on the couch. So I am constantly giving in to his tempting snacks and watching TV with him…oh well, togetherness right? Love your humor!

    • Thanks for your comment Linda. Glad to hear we’re not the only ones! I just keep telling myself that corn crackers are popcorn in a biscuit – two of my favourite things. 🙂

  2. Good luck! Consider yourself lucky your hubby prefers healthy snacks; mine is the worst influence EVER. If I went by the “I’ll have what he’s having” philosophy, well, my habits wouldn’t change very much…I guess I’m a bad influence, too. I’m trying to shed some pounds, though, so I’ll take a page from your book and make him have what I’m having 🙂 You can do this!

Leave a Reply

