Lost without my laptop

Standard
MSI laptop computer

MSI laptop computer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve had time to ponder my internal dialogue just recently. No, I’m not on some existential quest for enlightenment or journey of self discovery. The reason is much simpler. My laptop has been in the shop for repairs.

Suddenly I’ve had time on my hands, time that would normally be spent writing, researching and seeking answers to those big questions that only the good old internet can provide.

With time to spare, it seems one question comes to mind with alarming regularity – “I wonder what Google would say about that?”

It seems that Google has taken up residence in almost every aspect of my daily life.

Can Google offer some inspiration for the kids’ lunch boxes? Has Google got an address for the kids’ favourite singer so they can send some fan mail? Is there any solution out there for the ongoing problem of kids who are incapable of identifying mess yet comfortable living in it?

Surely Google knows. Google knows everything.

But when the laptop is down, Google is silent.

Without an excuse to track down random pieces of information I have time for other things. Shocking, isn’t it?

I’ve finally finished a book that’s been gathering dust on my book shelf for years. I’ve had time to peruse the contents of the pantry and find a use for those decade-old, tinned asparagus stalks. And I’ve cleaned under the couch only to discover that my kids are even more immune to mess than I originally thought.

But now the laptop is back. My missing limb reinstated. And Google has been getting a workout.

Absence made the heart grow fonder but I couldn’t have lasted much longer.

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

