Rush, rush . . . stop!

Standard
Beach

Beach (Photo credit: Craig Anderson)

It can’t be said that I rush into things. Most of the decisions in my life are made over the course of weeks, if not months. Take, for instance, the decision to have my wisdom teeth removed.

Back in 1993 a dentist advised me to have this done “soon”. I looked into it and decided there were more pressing things to do like . . . not doing it.

I revisited this decision in 2010 when another dentist looked at my x-rays, frowned at me then hastily wrote out a referral.

It’s 2013, my teeth are still in-situ and my wisdom remains (though my kids question this daily).

The fact is, I don’t like to commit too soon then find myself looking for ways to undo what’s been done. After all, that’s not always possible, (cue gnashing teeth).

So, when it comes to holidays, major purchases, social gatherings, even sports – I like to take my time. After all, who wants to end up sitting in a ski lodge, surrounded by snow bunnies watching snow fall when you could be at the beach, draped over a banana lounge, sipping cocktails and watching the kids leap frog over jelly fish. I know which option I’d prefer and it requires sun and quite a bit of surf.

Perhaps the only exception to this drawn out rule is clothes shopping. If I can buy it off the rack with just one look – excellent. If I can try it on once and still be happy – good. If I can buy it online and have it delivered to my door – even better. But don’t make me think about it.

After all, there are more important things to worry about, like – how exactly does all that wisdom fit inside four teeth? What do you do without it when all those teeth are taken out? And – importantly – does the tooth fairy still visit 30-something year olds?

When someone can answer those questions, then I might make a decision.

3 responses »

  1. Do you mean that you still haven’t gotten your wisdom teeth pulled? You really should. I regret that I didn’t get mine pulled until I was in my 30’s.

    My philosophy at the time was, “Hey, they’re not hurting anything.”

    But actually they were. Over time, they pushed all of my other teeth forward, and now I have overlapping incisors and a heavy overbite. I wouldn’t have had all these problems, if I’d only taken out my wisdom teeth earlier in life.

  2. I love your sense of humor!! I posted this to facebook.
    Your wisdom teeth come in at an age when you are supposed to have some intelligence, hence, wisdom. Now, I have met some people whose brain could probably fit in 4 small teeth, but I won’t go into that.
    Sorry, but the tooth fairy does not visit 30-year-olds. IF you have a devoted husband or a super sister willing to pretend to be the tooth fairy, you may find something under your pillow. Warning, be wary of what they might leave.
    On a more serious note: Wisdom teeth do not have to be pulled unless there is a problem. Since 2 dentists have recommended it, I would strongly suggest you follow their advice. An infection in your teeth can cause problems in other body parts–stomach, sinus, even a systemic infection in you blood. Modern dentistry makes getting your teeth pulled easy, and near painless. I’ve had to have a number of mine pulled in spite of all my efforts to keep them. The pain afterwards was minimal. Did you ask why they needed to be pulled?
    Good luck. Keep writing. You’ll have a book one day, maybe even funnier than Erma Bombeck.

Leave a Reply

