The case for cats . . .

Standard
English: Young male tabby cat

English: Young male tabby cat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Owing to the backlash from last week’s blog, I have decided to dig deep and balance the scales on the whole ‘dog versus cat’ debate. I can’t make any promises, but here goes . . .

In my lifetime I’ve known several cats. There was Gustav, a white cat with shoe-polish ears; Symphony, a long-haired tortoise-shell with questionable night-time habits; Adolphus, a tabby with attitude to spare and his adopted brother Patches, a black and white feline – deaf as a doornail – who spent his days either sleeping on top of the fridge or taking pot shots at passers-by. As cats go, they were . . . cats.

My sister (the main source of last week’s backlash) was the owner of two more felines – Tinkerbell and Jakey. If there was a cat that was going to swing my opinion it would be one of those two. Before there were kids in my sister’s household, there were cats and as they grew so did the family. They were a yardstick – and occasional gearstick* – in her happy home.

This, I understand. Cats and dogs are there through all the good, bad and middling bits. Their presence is attached to memories of all sorts of events that span the years. Whether they’re watching from a perch on top of the fridge, curled up at the foot of the bed or laying claim to the best seat on the couch, they are still a member of the household.

In my sister’s words:

“It’s not that cats are better than dogs, they’re just different.”

Besides, no-one said you couldn’t love a furry tyrant bent on world domination.

Meow. 🙂

 

*I searched high and low for a picture of a cat in the gearstick pose. Sadly, no luck. You’ll just have to imagine it for yourself.

2 responses »

  1. I’m not terribly fond of cats, partly due to being allergic to them; however, I’ve “owned” several over the years. Caesar was first. He was great actually with a wonderful personality, and a terrific mouser. One day I found a mouse in my dishwasher of all places! I picked up Caesar, opened the door enough for him to see the mouse on the top rack. He jumped out of my arms onto the rack and caught the mouse. I was amazed at his agility on the wires. Sorrowfully, he was killed by a car after we moved. Next was a light gray one who loved to use all my potted plants for his business instead of the kitty litter. Every plant died, including my beautiful twisted Ficus tree. Living next to a road is not a good idea. He also was hit by a car. A tiny kitten gray kitten showed up in our yard a few days later. We decided the driver of the car that hit the other one must have brought it because it was too small to get there without human help. We had him a few weeks when a tiger-striped one and a long-haired gray showed up. I fed the other two outside, but could not keep more than one cat inside, besides the tiger-stripe streaked away at the site of a human. A friend and her mother came to feed them while I was on a trip. The mother fell in love with the long-haired one and wanted him. I agreed. She picked him up and I noticed later that none of the others were around. I checked with her and she had taken only one. I never saw the other 2 cats again. Also, I never got any more as pets.

    • I could have used a cat a few years ago when we had a mouse plague. But the plague passed and so did the idea of adding to the family. These days I prefer the big cats at the zoo to the small types that fraternise on my garden wall. As for your trio of cats, perhaps they couldn’t bare to be apart. Did they ever turn up at your friend’s house?

Leave a Reply

